About me

Born in 1972 in Schüpfen in the Bernese Seeland, I grew up on my parents' farm with my two older brothers and sisters. I did an apprenticeship to be a gardener and in 1996 I successfully completed my professional baccalaureate. Up until then there was no indication to suggest that I would ever make a living as a mountain guide in my later life.

My travel virus became apparent in 1991 when I walked all across Scandinavia with a friend, returning to Switzerland via Russia. Longer trips that followed took me around Europe, to Egypt and to South Africa. However, at our doorstep in the Alps, I fell in love with the mountains.

In 1999, while I was cycling across Africa for ten months, I decided to tackle the training courses to be a mountain guide. The same year, I went on my first expedition to Peru. The following years were centred around the guiding training units. In 2004 I successfully obtained my diploma. In 2008, I completed the studies to be an adult educator (SVEB1) at Magglingen.

My passion about far-away countries and the unknown in general is alive as ever: be it on mountaineering expeditions to nearly all continents, on cycling trips in Madagascar, India/Bangladesh, or searching for spots in the alps that are still undiscovered.

Since summer 2009 I have been the father of a daughter - a totally new world is opening up yet again ...

Portrait

bin 1972 in Schüpfen im Berner Seeland geboren wo ich mit meinen zwei älteren Geschwistern meine Kindheit auf dem elterlichen Bauernhof verbrachte. Ich erlernte den Beruf des Gärtners und 1996 schloss ich die Berufsmaturität ab. Bis dahin wies nichts darauf hin, dass ich einmal vollberuflich als Berg-führer unterwegs sein würde.

Mein Reisevirus wurde 1991 aktiv als ich mit einem Freund quer durch Skandinavien wanderte und via Russland in die Schweiz zurückkehrte. Es folgten längere Reisen in Europa, Ägypten und Südamerika und bei uns in den Alpen entdeckte ich meine Liebe zu den Bergen.

1999 während einer zehnmonatigen Radreise durch Afrika entschied ich mich die Ausbildung zum Bergführer anzugehen. Im gleichen Jahr folgte die erste Expedition nach Peru. Die anschließenden Jahre standen voll im Zeichen der Bergführer-ausbildung welche ich 2004 erfolgreich abschloss. Die Ausbild-ung zum Erwachsenenbildner (SVEB1) absolvierte ich 2008 in Magglingen.

Meine Passion zu fernen Ländern und dem Unbekannten ist bis heute geblieben, sei es auf Alpinen Expeditionen in fast alle Kontinente, auf Reisen mit dem Fahrrad nach Madagaskar, Indien/Bangladesch oder auf der Suche nach unentdeckten Gebieten in den Alpen.

Seit dem Sommer 2009 und 2011 bin ich Vater zweier Töchter was mir eine weitere Welt öffnet ...